The Palais Rhoul & Spa Dakhla

Exclusive boutique hotel

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lao massage; Lazy Yoga ...

 

Certain aspects are characteristic of Laotian massage. It is performed on a mat, on the floor, rather than on a high table. This takes into account a certain number of movements and procedures which are not practical or effective with table work, or even impossible at times. Specifically, massage on a mat allows for efficient and maximum use of the practitioner's body weight, rather than the only muscular force used in other types of massage. Through body weight and pressure control, force and energy are applied and communicated by the practitioner to the client.

 

The work of Laotian massage consists mainly of pressure on the energy lines of the body with a variety of precise and powerful movements. If the energy lines and the pressure points are the central device of the Laotian massage, it should not however be equated with Chinese acupressure or shiatsu massage. The body diagrams are quite similar, but the practices are very different. In Laotian massage the energy lines and pressure points are worked during a global massage of the whole body which can be performed in a period ranging from 1 to 2 hours. An hour is really too short, ideal 1h30. Laotian massage is not a quick relaxation of muscles and joints. It is a complete massage that stimulates and irrigates almost all parts of the body. The stretching and pressure movements of the Laotian massage "open" the body soaks up the facias, resulting in regeneration and deep relaxation.

 

These are not exercises in the literal sense and no part of the Laotian massage is so called, because the beneficiary is passive and it is the practitioner who does all the work. Stretching movements affect the whole body. They increase flexibility, and release tension on the different floors. They complement the massage on the energy lines and pressure points so that the 3 together provide a whole body massage strategy.

 

An important feature of the Lao massage tradition is the practitioner himself and what he has been taught. Traditionally this massage has been passed orally from generation to generation. It was originally taught in Buddhist temples, while some temples in Thailand still transmit this art. Practitioners are taught to be sensitive to the client's body, the concept being based in part on the practitioner's ability to match their body with that of the client in terms of movement, rhythm and energy. Thus, all the characteristics of traditional Laotian massage contribute to the whole body concept, including the practitioner's use of special techniques taught in the monastic tradition. The goal of Laotian massage is to provide relaxation, balance to various centers of the body, healthy circulation of blood and activation of energy lines.

 

The masseur receives complete training and learning before taking a patient. The "method" of Laotian massage is the basis of all good practice. Those who have been trained in the art of Laotian massage must cultivate a certain number of attitude and method points. It is customary to say that it sometimes takes a lifetime to properly master this art.

Le Palais Rhoul & Spa Dakhla

Exclusive boutique hotel

Le Massage Laotien ; Le yoga du paresseux...

Certains aspects sont caractéristiques du massage Laotien. Il est exécuté sur une natte, sur le sol, plutôt que sur une table en hauteur. Cela tient compte d'un certain nombre de mouvements et procédés qui ne sont pas pratiques ou efficaces avec le travail de table, voire impossibles parfois. Spécifiquement, le massage sur natte permet une utilisation efficace et maximale du poids du corps du praticien, plutôt que de la seule force musculaire utilisée dans d'autres types de massage. Par le poids du corps et le contrôle de la pression, la force et l'énergie sont appliquées et communiquées par le praticien au client.

Le travail du massage Laotien consiste principalement en pression sur les lignes d'énergie du corps avec une variété de mouvements précis et puissants. Si les lignes d'énergie et les points de pression sont le dispositif central du massage Laotien, on ne doit toutefois pas l'assimiler à l'acupression chinoise ou au massage shiatsu. Les diagrammes de corps sont assez semblables, mais les pratiques sont bien différentes. Dans le massage Laotien les lignes d'énergie et les points de pression sont travaillés au cours d'un massage global du corps entier qui peut être exécuté dans une période allant de 1 à 2 heures. Une heure est réellement trop court, 1h30 idéal. Le massage Laotien n'est pas une décontraction rapide des muscles et des articulations. C'est un massage complet qui stimule et irrigue presque toutes les parties du corps. Les mouvements d'étirement et de pression du massage Laotien " ouvrent " le corps éponge les facias, il en résulte une régénération et une détente profonde.

Ceux ne sont pas des exercices au sens propre et aucune partie du massage Laotien ne s'appelle ainsi, car le bénéficiaire est passif et c'est le praticien qui effectue tout le travail. Les mouvements d'étirement affectent le corps entier. Ils en augmentent la souplesse, et libèrent la tension aux différents étages. Ils complètent le massage sur les lignes d'énergie et les points de pression de sorte que les 3 réunis fournissent une stratégie de massage du corps entier.

Une caractéristique importante de la tradition du massage Laotien est le praticien lui-même et ce qu'on lui a enseigné. Traditionnellement ce massage été passé oralement de génération en génération. On l'a initialement enseigné dans les temples bouddhistes, tandis que quelques temples de Thaïlande transmettent toujours cet art. On enseigne aux praticiens à être sensibles au corps du client, le concept étant en partie basé sur la capacité du praticien à accorder son corps avec celui du client en terme de mouvement, de rythme et d'énergie. Ainsi, toutes les caractéristiques du massage Laotien traditionnel contribuent au concept de corps entier, incluant l'utilisation par le praticien de techniques spéciales instruites dans la tradition monacale. Le but du massage Laotien est de fournir la relaxation, l'équilibre aux divers centres du corps, la circulation saine du sang et l'activation des lignes d'énergie.

Le masseur reçoit une formation et un apprentissage complet avant de prendre un patient. La "méthode" du massage Laotien est la base de toute bonne pratique. Ceux qui ont été formés à l'art du massage Laotien doivent cultiver un certain nombre de points d'attitude et de méthode. Il est coutume de dire qu’il faut parfois une vie pour maitriser convenablement cet art.